Border Country Sports Report-May 28th

You are currently viewing Border Country Sports Report-May 28th

Swamp Was on Fire at Devils” Bowl Northeast Crate Nationals

Good Morning! With the Border Country Sports Report, I’m Keith Harrington.

Fastest car in time trials. Dominant winner in his heat race. Grabbing the pole position in the redraw. Sporting the best name. Fire Swamp had it all on Saturday night at Devils’ Bowl Speedway. Swamp made the long three-hour haul from Akwesasne, New York worthwhile as he claimed the victory in the annual $5,000 to win 100 lap Northeast Crate Nationals for what he called, “the biggest win of my career.”

The 18-year-old rising star Swamp used an aggressive slide job move in turn three on the final lap of the event to get underneath veteran Demetrios Drellos and beat him to the checkered flag to take his second win of the season at “The Great Crate Place.” Swamp also won the $3,000 season opener at the track and was victorious at Airborne Park Speedway in Plattsburgh on Thursday night.

“I don’t even know what to say,” Swamp said in victory lane after the race.

Swamp led the first 78 before being overtaken by Drellos on lap 79. Drellos was piloting the Dave Rogers #44 in the event after a deal came together just a couple of days before the race.

Swamp briefly regained the lead after a restart of lap 89, but Drellos quickly passed the youngster back and led the next 10 laps.

After another late restart Drellos powered by Swamp off of turn four and led at the stripe on lap 99. Trailing by a couple of car lengths down the backstretch Swamp drove hard into turn three and made it stick then slid up in front of Drellos heading down the stretch as the capacity crowd rose to their feet and cheered wildly.

Invaders dominated the top five as Brian Calabrese was third, Richard Murtaugh fourth, and Tyler Corcoran fifth.

Vince Quenneville Jr. was the highest Devil’s Bowl regular finisher after Swamp, finishing sixth.

Dom Roselli, Kevin Chafee, Troy Audet, and Justin Comes rounded out the top 10.

Photo Credit-Devil’s Bowl Speedway