High school sports round-up, June 22, 2023

You are currently viewing High school sports round-up, June 22, 2023
Adirondack League champions Whitehall led the Adirondack League softball all-star selections. (Photo by Jen Dickinson)

Whitehall has 5 softball all-stars

Adirondack League champion Whitehall placed five players on the softball team’s league all-stars for the 2023 season.

Senior pitcher/shortstop Madi Gould was voted the league’s Most Valuable Player. Gould is on her way to play at Castleton University in the fall.

Other Railroaders named to the first team are senior shortstop Vinna Jensen, senior first basemen Blake Bird and freshman pitcher/third basemen Khloe Paddock.

Other first-team selections include senior catcher Kara Bacon and senior pitcher Kailey Bacon of Warrensburg, senior third basemen Shannon Starratt of Lake George, senior catcher Kylee Humiston of Argyle, junior catcher Haylie Barber of Granville and senior catcher/shortstop Taylor Cary of Salem.

Earning second-team honors from Whitehall was senior second baseman Ava Ruby.

Other players selected to the second team were Ella Olsen of Granville, Alonah Olden of Lake George, Makena Barber of Lake George, Kayla McCauliffe of Salem, Sophia Keays of Salem, Carrie Humiston of Argyle, Hope Sherman of Warrensburg and Raeghan Liebig of Hartford-Fort Edward.

Granville athletes win awards

Granville senior student-athletes were honored at the recent senior athletic awards night. From left, athletic director Justin Nassivera, Alex Torres, Lilly Strout, Kerri Jennings and Brent Perry. (Photo courtesy of Granville Central School District)

Granville Central School’s athletic program announced the 2023 Sam Eppolito and Bev Tatko Awards at the Senior Athletic Banquet on June 6. Here are this year’s winners as voted on by the varsity coaching staff:

The Sam Eppolito female award winner is Lilly Strout.

The Sam Eppolito male award winner is Brent Perry.

The Bev Tatko female award winner this year is Kerri Jennings.

The Bev Tatko male award winner is Alexander Torres.