Whitehall sports round-up, Nov. 10, 2022

Granville-Whitehall nipped, 21-20, in finale

By Keith Harrington

Coming into the crossover round of high school football games, the Granville-Whitehall team had a chance to even their record in the first year of their merger. G-W was handed a tough challenge by the schedule-makers, though, giving them games against Class D power Chatham and larger school Johnstown.

In the final game of the season Friday night at Knox Field, Granville-Whitehall came up just short, falling to Johnstown 21-20.

“The game is one we definitely should have had. We had some mistakes that cost us,” said Granville-Whitehall coach Darin Eggleston. “They really only scored on big plays. They weren’t really able to move the ball on us, but we gave up three big plays.”

Senior Matthew Barlow did his best to give Granville-Whitehall a shot, going out in a blaze of glory in the final game of his career. Barlow rushed for a career-high 274 and two touchdowns on 31 carries, but it wasn’t quite enough.

Granville-Whitehall struck first on a three-yard touchdown by Troy Austin in the first quarter to make it 6-0. The extra point kick was blocked.

Ryan Hoyt brought the Sir Bills even on an 80-yard scamper to tie the game at 6-6 in the second stanza and the extra point kick gave Johnstown a 7-6 lead.

Later in the quarter, the Sir Bills extended their lead to 13-6 on a 59-yard scoring strike from Brandon Frank to Jack Miller.

Barlow scored on a nine-yard run and CJ Monty tacked on the two-point conversion to give Granville-Whitehall a 14-13 lead at the half.

In the third Barlow struck again, this time from three yards out to make it 20-13 Granville-Whitehall. The conversion pass attempt failed.

Hoyt then scored what turned out to be the game-winning touchdown later in the third on a 15-yard run and Miller passed for the two-point conversion to give the Sir Bills the lead, 21-20, and they held on in the fourth.

“When the game was over, we were all pretty upset with the outcome,” Eggleston said. ‘I told them that football is the game of life. In life you will undoubtedly have many things that don’t go your way. You can’t just give up. You need to keep your head up and continue to work hard for what lies ahead.”

Hoyt rushed 17 times for 193 yards and two touchdowns for the Sir Bills.

Austin added 41 yards on eight attempts for Granville-Whitehall.

Even though the team didn’t make the playoffs or garner as many wins as he would have liked, Eggleston feels his first season at the helm was memorable experience.

“Although we only had three wins, I truly enjoyed coaching these kids,” Eggleston added. They are great kids and always seemed to give it their all no matter what we faced. We had a motto that came from coach Silas Loomis. Never give up and never surrender.”

Johnstown ends the season 4-5. Granville-Whitehall finishes at 3-7.

As far as the first season as a merged program goes, Eggleston believes the two former rivals meshed well.

“We’ve definitely become a GW family this year,” Eggleston said. “All the hard work and battles that we’ve been though together forged a strong bond…a football family.”

Girls soccer All-Stars named

By Keith Harrington

Lila Frazier of Lake George was named Player of the Year for the Adirondack League Girls Soccer All-Star team.

Two other players from the league champion Warriors also were named to the first team, defender Tiffany Cornelius and midfielder Samantha Gorey.

Hadley-Luzerne placed three players on the first team. Forward Hannah Johnson, goalkeeper Madison Lent and forward Carolina Lott-Diamond represent the Eagles.

Bolton-Warrensburg placed Forward Kara Bacon and midfielder Ella Moskov on the first team.

Forward Paige Trzaskos and eighth-grader Olivia Winchell of Fort Ann also made the first team, along with defender Alexis Crossman of Corinth and defender Brooklynn VanGuilder of Whitehall.

Here is the entire list of all-stars:

Player of the Year

Lila Frazier of Lake George

First Team All-Stars

Kara Bacon of Bolton-Warrensburg

Tiffany Cornelius of Lake George

Alexis Crossman of Corinth

Samantha Gorey of Lake George

Hannah Johnson of Hadley-Luzerne

Madison Lent of Hadley-Luzerne

Carolina Lott-Diamond of Hadley-Luzerne

Ella Moskov of Bolton of Warrensburg

Paige Trzaskos of Fort Ann

Brooklynn VanGuilder of Whitehall

Olivia Winchell of Fort Ann

Second Team All-Stars

Sarah Abbott of Hadley-Luzerne

Angel Aratare of Fort Ann

Kailey Bacon of Bolton-Warrensburg

Alyssa Crossman of Corinth

Bella Garrison of Salem

Ashlyn Groesbeck of Whitehall

Ila Hubert of Bolton-Warrensburg

Sophia Keays of Salem

Kiki LaGuerre of North Warren

Lara Stanco of Lake George

Baylee Wright of Fort Ann