Whitehall sports round-up, June 16, 2022

You are currently viewing Whitehall sports round-up, June 16, 2022
Whitehall softball standout Madi Gould has been named the Adirondack League Most Valuable Player. (Photo by Jen Dickinson)
Salem NY 4th of July Parade Art & Plow Fest

Whitehall, Granville have softball All-Stars

By Keith Harrington

Whitehall and Granville both had several players recognized for their play this season when the Adirondack League softball coaches compiled their 2022 All-Star team.

The Railroaders, who went unbeaten in league play and claimed the tournament title, placed three players on the first team and two on the second team. Two Granville players were recognized, one on the first team and one on the second team.

Whitehall standout pitcher and slugger Madi Gould was voted the Adirondack League Most Valuable Player. Gould, a junior, was the Railroaders’ leader on defense and offense. She struck out 150 batters during the regular season and batted .575 with eight home runs and 26 RBIs. She also did not commit an error during the entire season.

Also earning first team honors from the Railroaders were senior center fielder/catcher Olivia Whiting and junior shortstop and pitcher Vinna Jensen. Whiting batted .515 with 14 RBIs and did not have an error. Jensen hit .416 with 29 RBIs and a .490 on-base percentage.

Junior first basemen Blake Bird and junior second baseman Ava Ruby were named second team all-stars. Bird hit .416 with 21 RBIs and had no errors. Ruby batted .457 and drove in 10 runs.

Sophomore pitcher Lauren Bascom received first team recognition for Granville. Sophomore catcher Haylie Barber was named to the second team for the Golden Horde. Bascom had 101 strikeouts on the season. She hit .447 with a home run and four doubles. Barber batted .333 with a home run, a triple, three doubles and 10 RBIs.

The remainder of the first team: Shannon Starratt of Lake George, Olivia Gates of Lake George, Kailey Bacon of Warrensburg, Kara Bacon of Warrensburg, Kylee Humiston of Argyle and Kayla McCauliffe of Salem.

Also named to the second team wereHo Mattison Stark of Lake George, Grace York of Lake George, Teagan Grady of Corinth, Alonah Olden of Warrensburg, Taylor Cary of Salem and Kate Lindsay of Argyle.