Whitehall sports round-up, Nov. 4, 2021

Cross-country league champions decided

By Keith Harrington

At the Adirondack League’s annual cross-country championships last Friday at Queensbury High School’s 3.1 mile circuit, runners from Argyle and Warrensburg claimed the individual titles while Lake George swept the team championships.

The girls championship race was highly anticipated as Argyle’s Alyssa Freeguard, Hadley-Luzerne’s Katrin Schreiner, Granville’s Amber Gibbs, Hartford’s Brynn Tyler and Corinth’s Rylee Dunbar were all figured to have a chance to claim the race. Gibbs was unable to participate because of an injury.

Freeguard ended up crossing the line first with a time of 21:14:45. Dunbar was second with a time of 21:56:09. Schreiner placed third with a time of 22:00:54.

Tyler and Lake George’s Taylor Syvertsen rounded out the top five. Tyler ran a 22:01:86 and Syvertsen a 23:04:45.

Other Granville-Whitehall finishers included Natalie Morin in 19th and Cammie Dekalb 30th.

Hartford’s McKenzie Johnson was 23rd and Kayla Livingston 29th.

The Lake George girls scored 32 points as did Hadley-Luzerne, but the Warriors were crowned the winners because of their sixth runner. Argyle placed third and Corinth fourth.

The boys side was considered to be more up for grabs with multiple runners potentially in the hunt. In the end Warrensburg’s Brody Olden earned the championship with a time of 18:10:62. Hartford’s Logan Reynolds, also a soccer standout for the Tanagers, was second with a 18:31:88. Logan Anderson of North Warren-Johnsburg placed third with an 18:35:34.

Gage Morris of North Warren-Johnsburg and Liam Fahet-Stack completed the top five.

Quinn Johnson was Granville-Whitehall’s top finisher in 13th. Matt Pietryka had a 24th place finish. Hunter Rockenstire placed 36th, Preston Bakemeier was 39th, Tristan Teer 41st and Carter Powell 44th.

Hartford’s Bryton Mandigo finished 19th, Hongxu Qian 37th, Michael Smith 47th and Hunter LaCross 51st.

Lake George won the team title with a score of 32. North Warren Johnsburg was second, followed by Hadley-Luzerne, Hartford and Granville-Whitehall.

League coaches also named the Adirondack League all-stars at the event. Gibbs and Johnson were named Adirondack League all-stars from Granville-Whitehall. Reynolds, Mandigo and Tyler earned all-star selections for Hartford.

The teams now move on to the Section II championship meet this Friday at Saratoga National Park.